Behind the Headline: 2013 McGraw Prize in Education Winners Named

By 09/19/2013

Print | NO PDF |

On Top of the News
2013 McGraw Prize in Education Winners Named
9/18/13 | ABC News

Behind the Headline
No Excuses Kids Go to College
Spring 2013 | Education Next

The 2013 McGraw Prize has been awarded to the leaders of three organizations devoted to making a college education achievable for disadvantaged students.  Mike Feinberg and Dave Levin of the KIPP Foundation were among the honorees.

In addition to preparing low-income students for college through a network of charter schools, KIPP has signed agreements with 39 colleges to create KIPP-to-college programs that include recruiting pipelines and campus support systems for low-income students who graduate from the charter schools. Robert Pondiscio took an in-depth look at the programs and some of the challenges they face in “No Excuses Kids Go to College: Will High-Flying Charters See Their Low-Income Students Graduate,” which appeared in the Spring 2013 issue of Ed Next.

-Education Next

Sponsored Results
Sponsored by

Harvard Kennedy School Program on Educational Policy and Governance

Sponsored by